Lync for Mac 14.0.8 crashes, relogin and acts weird.

Ok, I admit it. I’m running Lync on OSx 😦

Several of my machines, including my work machine, are apple products. But I still want to run Lync in a local client. Sadly, Microsoft has not come up with a Mac client worthy of comparison with the Lync 2013 client for Windows.

So, I have to stick with the Lync 2011 client for Mac 🙂 This client is very unstable, and does a lot of strange things. I’ve managed to get it fairly stable and working, but not 100%. It keeps crashing when I plug in USB devices etc.

After the last update to version 14.0.8, the client started to sign in and out every few seconds. It seems like the problem arises due to the fact that newer Mac OSx is case sensitive, which is not taken into consideration by Microsoft.In order to fix this, I had to run the following command in Terminal on my Mac:

cd /Applications/Microsoft\ Lync.app/Contents/Frameworks \
    && ln -s USBHIDWrapper.framework USBHidWrapper.framework

Just so you know it in case you are in the same situation as I am 🙂
PS: VmWare Fusion is a super product for running Windows on a Mac(if you have to) 🙂

Note: It turns out that the last patch for Lync for Mac 2011(14.0.8) also fixed some other problems I had with the client crashing when removing or inserting USB headsets and web cam’s while the client was running.

2 thoughts on “Lync for Mac 14.0.8 crashes, relogin and acts weird.

  1. This issue was there in previous updates too. I support Lync for a 3500 user company with about 10% running OS X. Haven’t seen the case change issue on too many systems. 14.0.8 itself has been WAY more stable and there are some other improvements coming out in the next update that should bring more feature parity to the Lync 2011 product. Now, if it would just allow the marking of QOS we’d be set.

Leave a Reply

